Tunneled central lines

Hickman

by Bard Access Systems, Inc.

A flexible tube intended to be introduced into a neck or thoracic vein and often advanced into the superior vena cava for various infusion/aspiration procedures (i.e., non-dedicated) including the intravenous administration of nutrients, fluids, chemotherapeutic agents or other drugs, and blood sampling or delivery; it may also be used to monitor venous pressure. The proximal end of this central venous catheter (CVC) is typically fixed to the patient for long-term use. It may include supportive devices associated with introduction (e.g., guidewire, introducer); it is not primarily intended for extracorporeal blood therapies such as haemodialysis. This is a single-use device.

Contact a rep Compare similar devices

Hickman models and sizes

From the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database. Confirm with the manufacturer's instructions for use.

Model / catalog no.SizeMRIStatus
0600160Length 56 cm; Catheter Gauge 9.6 Fr Not statedAvailable
0600310Length 34 cm; Catheter Gauge 7 Fr Not statedAvailable
0600320Length 35 cm; Catheter Gauge 9 Fr Not statedAvailable
0600330Catheter Gauge 9 Fr; Length 54 cm Not statedAvailable
0600350Length 54 cm; Catheter Gauge 12 Fr Not statedAvailable
0600360Catheter Gauge 12.5 Fr; Length 51 cm Not statedAvailable
0600560Length 56 cm; Catheter Gauge 9.6 Fr Not statedAvailable
0600564Length 56 cm; Catheter Gauge 9.6 Fr Not statedAvailable
0600570Catheter Gauge 7 Fr; Length 34 cm Not statedAvailable
0600574Catheter Gauge 7 Fr; Length 34 cm Not statedAvailable
0600580Catheter Gauge 9 Fr; Length 35 cm Not statedAvailable
0600600Catheter Gauge 9 Fr; Length 54 cm Not statedAvailable
0600604Length 54 cm; Catheter Gauge 9 Fr Not statedAvailable
0600620Length 54 cm; Catheter Gauge 12 Fr Not statedAvailable
0600650Length 51 cm; Catheter Gauge 12.5 Fr Not statedAvailable
0600654Length 51 cm; Catheter Gauge 12.5 Fr Not statedAvailable
0601630Catheter Gauge 9.6 Fr Not statedAvailable
0601680β€” Not statedAvailable
0601690β€” Not statedAvailable
0601700Catheter Gauge 9 Fr Not statedAvailable
0601710Catheter Gauge 12 Fr Not statedAvailable
0601730β€” Not statedAvailable
0601740Catheter Gauge 12.5 Fr Not statedAvailable
0601760Catheter Gauge 7 Fr Not statedAvailable
0601790Catheter Gauge 10 Fr Not statedAvailable
0606460Length 59 cm; Catheter Gauge 10 Fr Not statedAvailable
0606560Length 59 cm; Catheter Gauge 10 Fr Not statedAvailable
0606564Length 59 cm; Catheter Gauge 10 Fr Not statedAvailable

Procedures that use tunneled central lines

Frequently asked questions

What is Hickman used for?

A flexible tube intended to be introduced into a neck or thoracic vein and often advanced into the superior vena cava for various infusion/aspiration procedures (i.e., non-dedicated) including the intravenous administration of nutrients, fluids, chemotherapeutic agents or other drugs, and blood sampling or delivery; it may also be used to monitor venous pressure. The proximal end of this central venous catheter (CVC) is typically fixed to the patient for long-term use. It may include supportive devices associated with introduction (e.g., guidewire, introducer); it is not primarily intended for extracorporeal blood therapies such as haemodialysis. This is a single-use device.

Who makes Hickman?

Hickman is made by Bard Access Systems, Inc.. It is listed under tunneled central venous catheters (broviac, hickman) in our device library.

What sizes does Hickman come in?

Sizes listed for Hickman: Catheter Gauge: 7–12.5 Fr; Length: 34–59 cm. Confirm availability with the manufacturer's instructions for use.

Is Hickman MRI safe?

The FDA device database entry for Hickman does not state its MRI safety status. Check the labeling before MRI.

Is Hickman FDA cleared?

Hickman is registered in the FDA's Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID).

How do I contact a Bard Access Systems, Inc. sales representative?

Bard Access Systems, Inc. has not listed representatives on LA Vascular yet. Visit the Bard Access Systems, Inc. company page for contact details.

Models, sizes and MRI status come from the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID); descriptions marked "provided by the manufacturer" are reviewed before publishing. Not an endorsement; follow the manufacturer's instructions for use.

πŸ“¬ Stay Updated

Get the latest vascular education content delivered to your inbox.

Suggest edits

For manufacturers and their teams. Each field shows what the page says now: add, remove or rewrite anything, and leave the rest as is. LA Vascular reviews every change before it goes live.

About you