Biopsy needles

Mission

by Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.

A hand-operated, non-electronic, surgical instrument designed for the automatic extraction of a small tissue sample from an anatomical structure (a biopsy), while causing minimal surrounding tissue damage, for tissue pathological examination/testing. It consists of both: 1) a handpiece with a spring-loaded mechanism and release trigger; and 2) a percutaneous, distal, needle-like portion with a side-notch cutter which when activated causes a sharp, sliding cannula to slice a segment of tissue. It is typically used to obtain samples of soft tissue from the kidneys, prostate, pancreas, liver, and breast, often performed under image guidance. This is a single-use device.

Contact a rep Compare similar devices

Mission models and sizes

From the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database. Confirm with the manufacturer's instructions for use.

Model / catalog no.SizeMRIStatus
1406MSNeedle Gauge 14 G; Length 6 cm Not statedAvailable
1410MSLength 10 cm; Needle Gauge 14 G Not statedAvailable
1410MSKNeedle Gauge 14 G; Length 10 cm Not statedAvailable
1416MSLength 16 cm; Needle Gauge 14 G Not statedAvailable
1416MSKLength 16 cm; Needle Gauge 14 G Not statedAvailable
1606MSLength 6 cm; Needle Gauge 16 G Not statedAvailable
1610MSNeedle Gauge 16 G; Length 10 cm Not statedAvailable
1610MSKNeedle Gauge 16 G; Length 10 cm Not statedAvailable
1616MSNeedle Gauge 16 G; Length 16 cm Not statedAvailable
1616MSKLength 16 cm; Needle Gauge 16 G Not statedAvailable
1806MSLength 6 cm; Needle Gauge 18 G Not statedAvailable
1810MSNeedle Gauge 18 G; Length 10 cm Not statedAvailable
1810MSKNeedle Gauge 18 G; Length 10 cm Not statedAvailable
1816MSNeedle Gauge 18 G; Length 16 cm Not statedAvailable
1816MSKNeedle Gauge 18 G; Length 16 cm Not statedAvailable
1820MSNeedle Gauge 18 G; Length 20 cm Not statedAvailable
1820MSKLength 20 cm; Needle Gauge 18 G Not statedAvailable
1825MSNeedle Gauge 18 G; Length 25 cm Not statedAvailable
1825MSKNeedle Gauge 18 G; Length 25 cm Not statedAvailable
2006MSNeedle Gauge 20 G; Length 6 cm Not statedAvailable
2010MSLength 10 cm; Needle Gauge 20 G Not statedAvailable
2010MSKNeedle Gauge 20 G; Length 10 cm Not statedAvailable
2016MSLength 16 cm; Needle Gauge 20 G Not statedAvailable
2016MSKLength 16 cm; Needle Gauge 20 G Not statedAvailable
2020MSLength 20 cm; Needle Gauge 20 G Not statedAvailable
2020MSKLength 20 cm; Needle Gauge 20 G Not statedAvailable

Procedures that use biopsy needles

Frequently asked questions

What is Mission used for?

A hand-operated, non-electronic, surgical instrument designed for the automatic extraction of a small tissue sample from an anatomical structure (a biopsy), while causing minimal surrounding tissue damage, for tissue pathological examination/testing. It consists of both: 1) a handpiece with a spring-loaded mechanism and release trigger; and 2) a percutaneous, distal, needle-like portion with a side-notch cutter which when activated causes a sharp, sliding cannula to slice a segment of tissue. It is typically used to obtain samples of soft tissue from the kidneys, prostate, pancreas, liver, and breast, often performed under image guidance. This is a single-use device.

Who makes Mission?

Mission is made by Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.. It is listed under biopsy needles and systems in our device library.

What sizes does Mission come in?

Sizes listed for Mission: Needle Gauge: 14–20 G; Length: 6–25 cm. Confirm availability with the manufacturer's instructions for use.

Is Mission MRI safe?

The FDA device database entry for Mission does not state its MRI safety status. Check the labeling before MRI.

Is Mission FDA cleared?

Mission is registered in the FDA's Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID).

How do I contact a Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc. sales representative?

Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc. has not listed representatives on LA Vascular yet. Visit the Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc. company page for contact details.

Models, sizes and MRI status come from the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID); descriptions marked "provided by the manufacturer" are reviewed before publishing. Not an endorsement; follow the manufacturer's instructions for use.

📬 The IR Device Brief

One email a month: new FDA clearances, recalls and device pages in vascular & interventional radiology.

We'll email you a link to confirm. Unsubscribe any time.

Suggest edits

For manufacturers and their teams. Each field shows what the page says now: add, remove or rewrite anything, and leave the rest as is. LA Vascular reviews every change before it goes live.

About you