Biopsy needles

Monopty

by Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.

A hand-operated, non-electronic, surgical instrument designed for the automatic extraction of a small tissue sample from an anatomical structure (a biopsy), while causing minimal surrounding tissue damage, for tissue pathological examination/testing. It consists of both: 1) a handpiece with a spring-loaded mechanism and release trigger; and 2) a percutaneous, distal, needle-like portion with a side-notch cutter which when activated causes a sharp, sliding cannula to slice a segment of tissue. It is typically used to obtain samples of soft tissue from the kidneys, prostate, pancreas, liver, and breast, often performed under image guidance. This is a single-use device.

Contact a rep Compare similar devices

Monopty models and sizes

From the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database. Confirm with the manufacturer's instructions for use.

Model / catalog no.SizeMRIStatus
000402Needle Gauge 18 G; Length 20 cm Not statedAvailable
000439Needle Gauge 16 G; Length 16 cm Not statedAvailable
000441Needle Gauge 14 G; Length 16 cm Not statedAvailable
121210Length 10 cm; Needle Gauge 12 G Not statedAvailable
121216Length 16 cm; Needle Gauge 12 G Not statedAvailable
121410Needle Gauge 14 G; Length 10 cm Not statedAvailable
121416Needle Gauge 14 G; Length 16 cm Not statedAvailable
121610Needle Gauge 16 G; Length 10 cm Not statedAvailable
121616Needle Gauge 16 G; Length 16 cm Not statedAvailable
121620Length 20 cm; Needle Gauge 16 G Not statedAvailable
121810Needle Gauge 18 G; Length 10 cm Not statedAvailable
121816Length 16 cm; Needle Gauge 18 G Not statedAvailable
121820Length 20 cm; Needle Gauge 18 G Not statedAvailable
122010Needle Gauge 20 G; Length 10 cm Not statedAvailable
122016Needle Gauge 20 G; Length 16 cm Not statedAvailable
122020Needle Gauge 20 G; Length 20 cm Not statedAvailable
211410Length 9 cm; Needle Gauge 14 G Not statedAvailable
211416Needle Gauge 14 G; Length 15 cm Not statedAvailable
211610Needle Gauge 16 G; Length 9 cm Not statedAvailable
211616Needle Gauge 16 G; Length 15 cm Not statedAvailable
211620Needle Gauge 16 G; Length 19 cm Not statedAvailable
211810Length 9 cm; Needle Gauge 18 G Not statedAvailable
211816Needle Gauge 18 G; Length 15 cm Not statedAvailable
211820Length 19 cm; Needle Gauge 18 G Not statedAvailable
212010Needle Gauge 20 G; Length 9 cm Not statedAvailable
212016Length 15 cm; Needle Gauge 20 G Not statedAvailable
212020Length 19 cm; Needle Gauge 20 G Not statedAvailable

Procedures that use biopsy needles

Frequently asked questions

What is Monopty used for?

A hand-operated, non-electronic, surgical instrument designed for the automatic extraction of a small tissue sample from an anatomical structure (a biopsy), while causing minimal surrounding tissue damage, for tissue pathological examination/testing. It consists of both: 1) a handpiece with a spring-loaded mechanism and release trigger; and 2) a percutaneous, distal, needle-like portion with a side-notch cutter which when activated causes a sharp, sliding cannula to slice a segment of tissue. It is typically used to obtain samples of soft tissue from the kidneys, prostate, pancreas, liver, and breast, often performed under image guidance. This is a single-use device.

Who makes Monopty?

Monopty is made by Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.. It is listed under biopsy needles and systems in our device library.

What sizes does Monopty come in?

Sizes listed for Monopty: Length: 9–20 cm; Needle Gauge: 12–20 G. Confirm availability with the manufacturer's instructions for use.

Is Monopty MRI safe?

The FDA device database entry for Monopty does not state its MRI safety status. Check the labeling before MRI.

Is Monopty FDA cleared?

Monopty is registered in the FDA's Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID).

How do I contact a Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc. sales representative?

Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc. has not listed representatives on LA Vascular yet. Visit the Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc. company page for contact details.

Models, sizes and MRI status come from the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID); descriptions marked "provided by the manufacturer" are reviewed before publishing. Not an endorsement; follow the manufacturer's instructions for use.

📬 The IR Device Brief

One email a month: new FDA clearances, recalls and device pages in vascular & interventional radiology.

We'll email you a link to confirm. Unsubscribe any time.

Suggest edits

For manufacturers and their teams. Each field shows what the page says now: add, remove or rewrite anything, and leave the rest as is. LA Vascular reviews every change before it goes live.

About you