Guidewires
Porter
by Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.
A long, thin wire intended to be percutaneously placed into the peripheral vasculature (not heart or central nervous system) to function as a guide for the introduction of devices (e.g., catheters). It is made of metal (e.g., stainless steel, Nitinol), with or without coating, and is available in a variety of distal tip designs. It is intended to be used for percutaneous angiography, angioplasty, rotational atherectomy and thrombectomy, drainage, and other diagnostic and interventional procedures. It may include devices used to facilitate manipulation (e.g., torque device). This is a single-use device.
Porter models and sizes
From the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database. Confirm with the manufacturer's instructions for use.
| Model / catalog no. | Size | MRI | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| GWP1403 | Length 195 cm | Not stated | Available |
| GWP1403X | Length 300 cm | Not stated | Available |
| GWP1406 | Length 195 cm | Not stated | Available |
| GWP1406X | Length 300 cm | Not stated | Available |
| GWP1409X | Length 300 cm | Not stated | Available |
| GWP1412X | Length 300 cm | Not stated | Available |
Procedures that use guidewires
Frequently asked questions
What is Porter used for?
A long, thin wire intended to be percutaneously placed into the peripheral vasculature (not heart or central nervous system) to function as a guide for the introduction of devices (e.g., catheters). It is made of metal (e.g., stainless steel, Nitinol), with or without coating, and is available in a variety of distal tip designs. It is intended to be used for percutaneous angiography, angioplasty, rotational atherectomy and thrombectomy, drainage, and other diagnostic and interventional procedures. It may include devices used to facilitate manipulation (e.g., torque device). This is a single-use device.
Who makes Porter?
Porter is made by Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.. It is listed under guidewires in our device library.
What sizes does Porter come in?
Sizes listed for Porter: Length: 195–300 cm. Confirm availability with the manufacturer's instructions for use.
Is Porter MRI safe?
The FDA device database entry for Porter does not state its MRI safety status. Check the labeling before MRI.
Is Porter FDA cleared?
Porter is registered in the FDA's Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID).
How do I contact a Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc. sales representative?
Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc. has not listed representatives on LA Vascular yet. Visit the Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc. company page for contact details.
Models, sizes and MRI status come from the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID); descriptions marked "provided by the manufacturer" are reviewed before publishing. Not an endorsement; follow the manufacturer's instructions for use.