Ablation systems
Emprint
by Covidien LP
A non-active, hand-held surgical instrument designed to connect to a microwave ablation system generator to deliver microwaves to a targeted operative site for localized soft-tissue ablation, typically to treat tumours, hydatid cysts and/or menorrhagia. The probe includes a handle and a patient contact region (e.g., antenna, leaflets), and might include a cooling mechanism (via water irrigation). The device is intended to be used in percutaneous, endoscopic [e.g., gastroscopic, laparoscopic], natural orifice or open surgery procedures to ablate tissues (e.g., endometrial ablation). This is a single-use device.
Emprint models and sizes
From the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database. Confirm with the manufacturer's instructions for use.
| Model / catalog no. | Size | MRI | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| CA15L1 | Length 15 cm | Not stated | Available |
| CA15L1 | Length 15 cm | Not stated | Available |
| CA15L1 | Length 15 cm | Not stated | Available |
| CA15L2 | Length 15 cm | MR Unsafe | Available |
| CA15L2 | Length 15 cm | MR Unsafe | Available |
| CA20L1 | Length 20 cm | Not stated | Available |
| CA20L1 | Length 20 cm | Not stated | Available |
| CA20L1 | Length 20 cm | Not stated | Available |
| CA20L2 | Length 20 cm | MR Unsafe | Available |
| CA20L2 | Length 20 cm | MR Unsafe | Available |
| CA30L1 | Length 30 cm | Not stated | Available |
| CA30L1 | Length 30 cm | Not stated | Available |
| CA30L1 | Length 30 cm | Not stated | Available |
| CA30L1 | Length 30 cm | Not stated | Available |
| CA30L2 | Length 30 cm | MR Unsafe | Available |
| CA30L2 | Length 30 cm | MR Unsafe | Available |
| CA190RC1 | Length 190 cm | Not stated | Available |
| CAGEN1 | β | Not stated | Available |
| CAGEN1ZD | β | Not stated | Available |
| CAPUMP1 | β | Not stated | Available |
| CAPUMP1ZD | β | Not stated | Available |
| CART1 | β | Not stated | Available |
FDA clearances
- 510(k) K163105 December 2016
Procedures that use ablation systems
Frequently asked questions
What is Emprint used for?
A non-active, hand-held surgical instrument designed to connect to a microwave ablation system generator to deliver microwaves to a targeted operative site for localized soft-tissue ablation, typically to treat tumours, hydatid cysts and/or menorrhagia. The probe includes a handle and a patient contact region (e.g., antenna, leaflets), and might include a cooling mechanism (via water irrigation). The device is intended to be used in percutaneous, endoscopic [e.g., gastroscopic, laparoscopic], natural orifice or open surgery procedures to ablate tissues (e.g., endometrial ablation). This is a single-use device.
Who makes Emprint?
Emprint is made by Covidien LP. It is listed under tumor ablation systems (microwave, rf, cryo) in our device library.
What sizes does Emprint come in?
Sizes listed for Emprint: Length: 15β190 cm. Confirm availability with the manufacturer's instructions for use.
Is Emprint MRI safe?
The FDA device database entry for Emprint does not state its MRI safety status. Check the labeling before MRI.
Is Emprint FDA cleared?
Emprint is covered by FDA submission K163105.
How do I contact a Covidien LP sales representative?
Covidien LP has not listed representatives on LA Vascular yet. Visit the Covidien LP company page for contact details.
Models, sizes and MRI status come from the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID); descriptions marked "provided by the manufacturer" are reviewed before publishing. Not an endorsement; follow the manufacturer's instructions for use.