Biliary drains

Protege EverFlex

by Covidien LP

A non-bioabsorbable tubular device intended to be implanted in an obstructed biliary duct (e.g., common bile duct) to maintain luminal patency; it is not intended for vascular implantation. It may be a mesh structure or a continuous tube and is made entirely of metal [e.g., high-grade stainless steel, cobalt-chrome (Co-Cr), nickel-titanium alloy (Nitinol)]. It may be expandable in situ (e.g., with a balloon catheter or self-expands) and disposable devices intended to assist implantation may be included.

Contact Covidien LP ↗ Where to buy Compare similar devices

Find similar biliary stents

Where to buy Protege EverFlex

Contact Covidien LP directly; they can quote, ship, or point you to the distributor for your country.

From medtronic.com, checked October 2026.

No reply, or outside their markets? Send us a request and we route it to a rep or distributor for your country.

Is this your product? Claim Covidien LP to list your reps and distributors by country and receive buyer requests from your territories.

Protege EverFlex models and sizes

From the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database. Confirm with the manufacturer's instructions for use.

Model / catalog no.SizeMRIStatus
PRB35-05-020-080Length 20 mm; Outer Diameter 5 mm; Catheter Gauge 6 Fr Not statedAvailable
PRB35-05-020-120Outer Diameter 5 mm; Length 20 mm; Catheter Gauge 6 Fr MR SafeAvailable
PRB35-05-030-080Length 30 mm; Outer Diameter 5 mm; Catheter Gauge 6 Fr Not statedAvailable
PRB35-05-030-120Catheter Gauge 6 Fr; Length 30 mm; Outer Diameter 5 mm MR SafeAvailable
PRB35-05-040-080Length 40 mm; Outer Diameter 5 mm; Catheter Gauge 6 Fr Not statedAvailable
PRB35-05-040-120Outer Diameter 5 mm; Length 40 mm; Catheter Gauge 6 Fr Not statedAvailable
PRB35-05-060-080Catheter Gauge 6 Fr; Outer Diameter 5 mm; Length 60 mm Not statedAvailable
PRB35-05-060-120Outer Diameter 5 mm; Length 60 mm; Catheter Gauge 6 Fr Not statedAvailable
PRB35-05-080-080Outer Diameter 5 mm; Length 80 mm; Catheter Gauge 6 Fr Not statedAvailable
PRB35-05-080-120Catheter Gauge 6 Fr; Length 80 mm; Outer Diameter 5 mm Not statedAvailable
PRB35-05-100-080Outer Diameter 5 mm; Length 100 mm; Catheter Gauge 6 Fr Not statedAvailable
PRB35-05-100-120Catheter Gauge 6 Fr; Length 100 mm; Outer Diameter 5 mm Not statedAvailable
PRB35-05-120-080Length 120 mm; Outer Diameter 5 mm; Catheter Gauge 6 Fr Not statedAvailable
PRB35-05-120-120Catheter Gauge 6 Fr; Outer Diameter 5 mm; Length 120 mm Not statedAvailable

FDA clearances

  • 510(k) K072301 March 2008

Procedures that use biliary drains

Frequently asked questions

What is Protege EverFlex used for?

A non-bioabsorbable tubular device intended to be implanted in an obstructed biliary duct (e.g., common bile duct) to maintain luminal patency; it is not intended for vascular implantation. It may be a mesh structure or a continuous tube and is made entirely of metal [e.g., high-grade stainless steel, cobalt-chrome (Co-Cr), nickel-titanium alloy (Nitinol)]. It may be expandable in situ (e.g., with a balloon catheter or self-expands) and disposable devices intended to assist implantation may be included.

Who makes Protege EverFlex?

Protege EverFlex is made by Covidien LP. It is listed under biliary drainage catheters in our device library.

What sizes does Protege EverFlex come in?

Sizes listed for Protege EverFlex: Length: 20–120 mm; Outer Diameter: 5 mm; Catheter Gauge: 6 Fr. Confirm availability with the manufacturer's instructions for use.

Is Protege EverFlex MRI safe?

The FDA device database entry for Protege EverFlex does not state its MRI safety status. Check the labeling before MRI.

Is Protege EverFlex FDA cleared?

Protege EverFlex is covered by FDA submission K072301.

How do I contact a Covidien LP sales representative?

Covidien LP has not listed representatives on LA Vascular yet. Visit the Covidien LP company page for contact details.

Models, sizes and MRI status come from the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID); descriptions marked "provided by the manufacturer" are reviewed before publishing. Not an endorsement; follow the manufacturer's instructions for use.

📬 The IR Device Brief

One email a month: new FDA clearances, recalls and device pages in vascular & interventional radiology.

We'll email you a link to confirm. Unsubscribe any time.

Suggest edits

For manufacturers and their teams. Each field shows what the page says now: add, remove or rewrite anything, and leave the rest as is. LA Vascular reviews every change before it goes live.

About you