Guidewires
Wholey
by Covidien LP
A long, thin wire intended to be percutaneously placed into the peripheral vasculature (not heart or central nervous system) to function as a guide for the introduction of devices (e.g., catheters). It is made of metal (e.g., stainless steel, Nitinol), with or without coating, and is available in a variety of distal tip designs. It is intended to be used for percutaneous angiography, angioplasty, rotational atherectomy and thrombectomy, drainage, and other diagnostic and interventional procedures. It may include devices used to facilitate manipulation (e.g., torque device). This is a single-use device.
Wholey models and sizes
From the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database. Confirm with the manufacturer's instructions for use.
| Model / catalog no. | Size | MRI | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| WWES35001 | Length 155 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWES35001 | Guidewire Length 155.0 cm; Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWFS35145 | Outer Diameter 0.89 mm | Not stated | Available |
| WWFS35145 | Guidewire Length 145.0 cm; Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWFS35175 | Outer Diameter 0.89 mm | Not stated | Available |
| WWFS35175 | Guidewire Length 175.0 cm; Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWFS35260 | Length 260 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWFS35260 | Guidewire Length 260.0 cm; Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWFS35300 | Length 300 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWFS35300 | Guidewire Length 300.0 cm; Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWIJ35145 | Length 145 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWIJ35145 | Guidewire Length 145.0 cm; Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWIJ35175 | Length 175 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWIJ35175 | Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm; Guidewire Length 175.0 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWIJ35260 | Length 260 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWIJ35260 | Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm; Guidewire Length 260.0 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWIJ35300 | Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm; Guidewire Length 300.0 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWIJ35300 | Length 300 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWSS35145 | Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm; Guidewire Length 145.0 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWSS35145 | Length 145 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWSS35175 | Length 175 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWSS35175 | Guidewire Length 175.0 cm; Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWSS35260 | Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm; Guidewire Length 260.0 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWSS35260 | Length 260 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWSS35300 | Guidewire Length 300.0 cm; Guidewire Diameter 0.089 cm | Not stated | Available |
| WWSS35300 | Length 300 cm | Not stated | Available |
FDA clearances
- 510(k) K120863 April 2012
Procedures that use guidewires
Frequently asked questions
What is Wholey used for?
A long, thin wire intended to be percutaneously placed into the peripheral vasculature (not heart or central nervous system) to function as a guide for the introduction of devices (e.g., catheters). It is made of metal (e.g., stainless steel, Nitinol), with or without coating, and is available in a variety of distal tip designs. It is intended to be used for percutaneous angiography, angioplasty, rotational atherectomy and thrombectomy, drainage, and other diagnostic and interventional procedures. It may include devices used to facilitate manipulation (e.g., torque device). This is a single-use device.
Who makes Wholey?
Wholey is made by Covidien LP. It is listed under guidewires in our device library.
What sizes does Wholey come in?
Sizes listed for Wholey: Guidewire Diameter: 0.09 cm; Guidewire Length: 145–300 cm; Length: 145–300 cm. Confirm availability with the manufacturer's instructions for use.
Is Wholey MRI safe?
The FDA device database entry for Wholey does not state its MRI safety status. Check the labeling before MRI.
Is Wholey FDA cleared?
Wholey is covered by FDA submission K120863.
How do I contact a Covidien LP sales representative?
Covidien LP has not listed representatives on LA Vascular yet. Visit the Covidien LP company page for contact details.
Models, sizes and MRI status come from the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID); descriptions marked "provided by the manufacturer" are reviewed before publishing. Not an endorsement; follow the manufacturer's instructions for use.