Coils

Nexus

by Micro Therapeutics, Inc.

A non-bioabsorbable, implantable device intended to induce a neurovascular thrombosis to treat an intracranial aneurysm and/or neurovascular arteriovenous malformation (AVM); it may also be intended to treat non-neurovascular malformations. It is in the form of a metal [e.g., platinum alloy] or metal/synthetic polymer wire which coils upon deployment within the aneurysm/vasculature; it is typically pre-attached to a nonimplantable delivery wire. Disposable devices associated with implantation (e.g., delivery wire, catheter) may be included.

Contact a rep Compare similar devices

Nexus models and sizes

From the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database. Confirm with the manufacturer's instructions for use.

Model / catalog no.SizeMRIStatus
X-2-1-T10-HSSOuter Diameter 2 mm; Length 1 cm Not statedAvailable
X-2-2-T10-HSSOuter Diameter 2 mm; Length 2 cm Not statedAvailable
X-2-3-T10-HSSLength 3 cm; Outer Diameter 2 mm Not statedAvailable
X-2-4-T10-HSSLength 4 cm; Outer Diameter 2 mm Not statedAvailable
X-2-6-T10-HSSOuter Diameter 2 mm; Length 6 cm Not statedAvailable
X-2-8-T10-HSSOuter Diameter 2 mm; Length 8 cm Not statedAvailable
X-3-2-T10-MCOuter Diameter 3 mm; Outer Diameter 2.5 mm; Length 2 cm Not statedAvailable
X-3-3-T10-HSSOuter Diameter 3 mm; Length 3 cm Not statedAvailable
X-3-4-T10-HSSOuter Diameter 3 mm; Length 4 cm Not statedAvailable
X-3-4-T10-TCOuter Diameter 2.9 mm; Length 4 cm; Outer Diameter 3 mm Not statedAvailable
X-3-5-T10-MCOuter Diameter 3 mm; Outer Diameter 2.5 mm; Length 5 cm Not statedAvailable
X-3-6-T10-HSSOuter Diameter 3 mm; Length 6 cm Not statedAvailable
X-3-8-T10-HSSLength 8 cm; Outer Diameter 3 mm Not statedAvailable
X-3-8-T10-MCLength 8 cm; Outer Diameter 2.5 mm; Outer Diameter 3 mm Not statedAvailable
X-3-10-T10-HSSLength 10 cm; Outer Diameter 3 mm Not statedAvailable
X-4-4-T10-HSSOuter Diameter 4 mm; Length 4 cm Not statedAvailable
X-4-5-T10-MCLength 5 cm; Outer Diameter 3.0 mm; Outer Diameter 4 mm Not statedAvailable
X-4-5-T10-TCLength 5 cm; Outer Diameter 3.8 mm; Outer Diameter 4 mm Not statedAvailable
X-4-6-T10-HSSLength 6 cm; Outer Diameter 4 mm Not statedAvailable
X-4-8-T10-HSSOuter Diameter 4 mm; Length 8 cm Not statedAvailable
X-4-10-T10-HSSLength 10 cm; Outer Diameter 4 mm Not statedAvailable
X-4-10-T10-MCLength 10 cm; Outer Diameter 4 mm; Outer Diameter 3.0 mm Not statedAvailable
X-5-10-T10-MCLength 10 cm; Outer Diameter 3.5 mm; Outer Diameter 5 mm Not statedAvailable
X-5-10-T10-TCOuter Diameter 5 mm; Outer Diameter 4.9 mm; Length 10 cm Not statedAvailable
X-5-15-T10-HSSLength 15 cm; Outer Diameter 5 mm Not statedAvailable
X-5-15-T10-MCOuter Diameter 3.5 mm; Outer Diameter 5 mm; Length 15 cm Not statedAvailable
X-6-12-T10-MCLength 12 cm; Outer Diameter 6 mm; Outer Diameter 3.5 mm Not statedAvailable
X-6-12-T10-TCOuter Diameter 6.0 mm; Outer Diameter 6 mm; Length 12 cm Not statedAvailable
X-6-20-T10-HSSOuter Diameter 6 mm; Length 20 cm Not statedAvailable
X-6-20-T10-MCLength 20 cm; Outer Diameter 6 mm; Outer Diameter 3.5 mm Not statedAvailable
X-7-15-T10-MCOuter Diameter 7 mm; Length 15 cm; Outer Diameter 4.0 mm Not statedAvailable
X-7-15-T10-TCLength 15 cm; Outer Diameter 6.8 mm; Outer Diameter 7 mm Not statedAvailable
X-7-21-T10-MCOuter Diameter 7 mm; Outer Diameter 4.0 mm; Length 21 cm Not statedAvailable
X-7-30-T10-HSSOuter Diameter 7 mm; Length 30 cm Not statedAvailable
X-8-15-T10-MCLength 15 cm; Outer Diameter 4.5 mm; Outer Diameter 8 mm Not statedAvailable
X-8-16-T10-TCOuter Diameter 8 mm; Outer Diameter 6.6 mm; Length 16 cm Not statedAvailable
X-8-25-T10-MCOuter Diameter 4.5 mm; Outer Diameter 8 mm; Length 25 cm Not statedAvailable
X-8-30-T10-HSSLength 30 cm; Outer Diameter 8 mm Not statedAvailable
X-9-18-T10-MCLength 18 cm; Outer Diameter 5.0 mm; Outer Diameter 9 mm Not statedAvailable
X-9-18-T10-TCLength 18 cm; Outer Diameter 7.5 mm; Outer Diameter 9 mm Not statedAvailable
X-9-28-T10-MCOuter Diameter 5.5 mm; Outer Diameter 9 mm; Length 28 cm Not statedAvailable
X-10-20-T10-MCOuter Diameter 5.5 mm; Length 20 cm; Outer Diameter 10 mm Not statedAvailable
X-10-20-T10-TCOuter Diameter 10 mm; Length 20 cm; Outer Diameter 8.3 mm Not statedAvailable
X-10-30-T10-HSSLength 30 cm; Outer Diameter 10 mm Not statedAvailable
X-10-30-T10-MCLength 30 cm; Outer Diameter 5.5 mm; Outer Diameter 10 mm Not statedAvailable
X-12-23-T10-TCOuter Diameter 12 mm; Length 23 cm; Outer Diameter 7.0 mm Not statedAvailable
X-14-26-T10-TCLength 26 cm; Outer Diameter 7.9 mm; Outer Diameter 14 mm Not statedAvailable
X-16-29-T10-TCOuter Diameter 16 mm; Outer Diameter 7.9 mm; Length 29 cm Not statedAvailable
X-18-29-T10-TCOuter Diameter 7.9 mm; Outer Diameter 18 mm; Length 29 cm Not statedAvailable

FDA clearances

  • 510(k) K060625 April 2006
  • 510(k) K051425 June 2005
  • 510(k) K050543 April 2005

Procedures that use coils

Frequently asked questions

What is Nexus used for?

A non-bioabsorbable, implantable device intended to induce a neurovascular thrombosis to treat an intracranial aneurysm and/or neurovascular arteriovenous malformation (AVM); it may also be intended to treat non-neurovascular malformations. It is in the form of a metal [e.g., platinum alloy] or metal/synthetic polymer wire which coils upon deployment within the aneurysm/vasculature; it is typically pre-attached to a nonimplantable delivery wire. Disposable devices associated with implantation (e.g., delivery wire, catheter) may be included.

Who makes Nexus?

Nexus is made by Micro Therapeutics, Inc.. It is listed under embolization coils in our device library.

What sizes does Nexus come in?

Sizes listed for Nexus: Outer Diameter: 2–18 mm; Length: 1–30 cm. Confirm availability with the manufacturer's instructions for use.

Is Nexus MRI safe?

The FDA device database entry for Nexus does not state its MRI safety status. Check the labeling before MRI.

Is Nexus FDA cleared?

Nexus is covered by FDA submissions K060625, K051425, K050543.

How do I contact a Micro Therapeutics, Inc. sales representative?

Micro Therapeutics, Inc. has not listed representatives on LA Vascular yet. Visit the Micro Therapeutics, Inc. company page for contact details.

Models, sizes and MRI status come from the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID); descriptions marked "provided by the manufacturer" are reviewed before publishing. Not an endorsement; follow the manufacturer's instructions for use.

📬 The IR Device Brief

One email a month: new FDA clearances, recalls and device pages in vascular & interventional radiology.

We'll email you a link to confirm. Unsubscribe any time.

Suggest edits

For manufacturers and their teams. Each field shows what the page says now: add, remove or rewrite anything, and leave the rest as is. LA Vascular reviews every change before it goes live.

About you