Guidewires
SilverSpeed
A long, thin, sterile wire intended to be percutaneously placed into the cardiac vasculature (ventricles or coronary vessels) to function as a guide for the introduction, positioning, and/or operation of a device (e.g., catheter, pacing lead); it may also be used in the peripheral vasculature. It may be made of metal (e.g., stainless steel, Nitinol), or polymer and/or glass materials to provide MRI-compatibility, with or without coating, and is available in a variety of distal tip designs. It is used for various diagnostic and interventional procedures, and may include devices used to facilitate manipulation (e.g., torque device). This is a single-use device.
SilverSpeed models and sizes
From the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database. Confirm with the manufacturer's instructions for use.
| Model / catalog no. | Size | MRI | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 103-0601-200 | Length 200 cm | Not stated | Available |
| 103-0602-175 | Length 175 cm | Not stated | Available |
| 103-0602-200 | Length 200 cm | Not stated | Available |
| 103-0603-200 | Length 200 cm | Not stated | Available |
FDA clearances
- 510(k) K993257 October 1999
- 510(k) K982543 December 1998
Procedures that use guidewires
Frequently asked questions
What is SilverSpeed used for?
A long, thin, sterile wire intended to be percutaneously placed into the cardiac vasculature (ventricles or coronary vessels) to function as a guide for the introduction, positioning, and/or operation of a device (e.g., catheter, pacing lead); it may also be used in the peripheral vasculature. It may be made of metal (e.g., stainless steel, Nitinol), or polymer and/or glass materials to provide MRI-compatibility, with or without coating, and is available in a variety of distal tip designs. It is used for various diagnostic and interventional procedures, and may include devices used to facilitate manipulation (e.g., torque device). This is a single-use device.
Who makes SilverSpeed?
SilverSpeed is made by Micro Therapeutics, Inc.. It is listed under guidewires in our device library.
What sizes does SilverSpeed come in?
Sizes listed for SilverSpeed: Length: 175–200 cm. Confirm availability with the manufacturer's instructions for use.
Is SilverSpeed MRI safe?
The FDA device database entry for SilverSpeed does not state its MRI safety status. Check the labeling before MRI.
Is SilverSpeed FDA cleared?
SilverSpeed is covered by FDA submissions K993257, K982543.
How do I contact a Micro Therapeutics, Inc. sales representative?
Micro Therapeutics, Inc. has not listed representatives on LA Vascular yet. Visit the Micro Therapeutics, Inc. company page for contact details.
Models, sizes and MRI status come from the FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID); descriptions marked "provided by the manufacturer" are reviewed before publishing. Not an endorsement; follow the manufacturer's instructions for use.